Reflections West http://kufm.org en Robert Lee & Ashley http://kufm.org/post/robert-lee-ashley <p></p><p>4/15/14 &amp; 4/16/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>:"</p><p>Robert Lee reflects on his experiences teaching poetry in a fishing town in Alaska. He pairs his thoughts with a poem by an elementary student from Hydaburg.</p><p></p> Wed, 16 Apr 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 17104 at http://kufm.org Robert Lee & Ashley Doug Midgett & Gwendolyn Haste http://kufm.org/post/doug-midgett-gwendolyn-haste <p>4/1/14 and 4/2/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>:" Doug Midgett reflects on the legacy of agricultural ghost towns—a by product of the boom and busts of the homesteading era.&nbsp; He pairs his thoughts with "Dried Out, a poem by Gwendolyn Haste.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16962 at http://kufm.org Doug Midgett & Gwendolyn Haste Bud Cheff, Jr. & Olivia Stiffler http://kufm.org/post/bud-cheff-jr-olivia-stiffler <p></p><p>3/25/14&nbsp; &amp;&nbsp; 3/26/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>:" Bud Cheff, Jr. reflects on the enduring ties between two families, one white, one Indian, on the Flathead reservation.&nbsp; He pairs his thoughts with a poem by Olivia Stiffler<strong>.</strong></p><p></p> Wed, 26 Mar 2014 01:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16115 at http://kufm.org Bud Cheff, Jr. & Olivia Stiffler Erin Saldin & Marilynne Robinson http://kufm.org/post/erin-saldin-marilynne-robinson <p>3/18/14 &amp; 3/19/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>:" Erin Saldin reflects on the mysterious bond between parent and child.&nbsp; She pairs her thoughts with the classic western novel, <em>Housekeeping, </em>by Marilynne Robinson.</p><p></p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 02:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16058 at http://kufm.org Erin Saldin & Marilynne Robinson Robert Stubblefield & James Welch http://kufm.org/post/robert-stubblefield-james-welch <p>3/11/14 &amp; 3/12/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>:" <strong>Robert Stubblefield </strong>reflects on the power of the written word to bring immediacy to story-telling.&nbsp; He pairs his thoughts with a passage from a <strong>James Welch </strong>novel, <em>Fools Crow</em>.</p><p></p> Wed, 12 Mar 2014 02:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 15851 at http://kufm.org Robert Stubblefield & James Welch Tammy Elser & Luci Tapahonso http://kufm.org/post/tammy-elser-luci-tapahonso <p>3/4/14 and 3/5/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>:"&nbsp; Tammy Elser reflects on the grand tradition of morning coffee, Monana style, which, though it may lack frills, is loaded with nostalgia.&nbsp; She pairs her thoughts with a poem by Navajo poet Luci Tapahonso.</p><p></p> Wed, 05 Mar 2014 03:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 15509 at http://kufm.org Tammy Elser & Luci Tapahonso Philip Burgess & Penny Postcards http://kufm.org/post/philip-burgess-penny-postcards <p>2/25 and 2/26, 2014: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>,"&nbsp;<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mGulZcQSSTc" target="_blank"><strong> Philip Burgess </strong></a>reflects on the historical fad of <strong>Penny Postcards </strong>and how they helped form women’s communities of the past.&nbsp; He pairs his thoughts with the contents of seven such cards written to two homesteading sisters in Montana.</p><p></p> Wed, 26 Feb 2014 03:30:00 +0000 mtpr.org 15219 at http://kufm.org Philip Burgess & Penny Postcards Toni Truesdale http://kufm.org/post/toni-truesdale <p>2/18 &amp; 19/2014: This week on "<a href="http://www.reflectionswest.org/index.php" target="_blank">Reflections West</a>," Toni Truesdale reflects on how the East/West divide has pulled apart many American families, in the past and today.&nbsp; She pairs her thoughts with a poem by Native American poet, Joy Harjo, that speaks to reconnecting.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 13 Feb 2014 19:06:00 +0000 Sue Ginn 14584 at http://kufm.org Toni Truesdale James Davenport http://kufm.org/post/james-davenport <p>2/11 &amp; 12/2014 - James reflects on the pros and cons of not "getting" pop-culture references.&nbsp; He pairs his thoughts with a passage by John Steinbeck.</p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 23:00:00 +0000 Sue Ginn 14585 at http://kufm.org Caroline Keys http://kufm.org/post/caroline-keys <p>2/4 &amp; 5/2014 - Caroline Keys speaks to the value of pushing limits, of transcending perceived and accepted boundaries.&nbsp; She pairs her thoughts with a traditional Salish story as told by Bon Whealdon.</p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 21:43:11 +0000 Sue Ginn 14179 at http://kufm.org