Tom Power http://kufm.org en Confusing Politics and Economics in Electric Supply Decisions http://kufm.org/post/confusing-politics-and-economics-electric-supply-decisions <p><strong>Confusing Politics and Economics in Electric Supply Decisions </strong></p><p></p> Tue, 08 Apr 2014 14:53:42 +0000 Tom Power 17330 at http://kufm.org The Flight from Coal in U.S. Electricity Production http://kufm.org/post/flight-coal-us-electricity-production <p><strong>The Flight from Coal in U.S. Electricity Production</strong></p><p align="left">&nbsp;</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 14:17:42 +0000 Tom Power 16680 at http://kufm.org Buying Back the Dams: An Important Billion Dollar Decision for Montana http://kufm.org/post/buying-back-dams-important-billion-dollar-decision-montana <p><strong>Buying Back the Dams: An Important Billion Dollar Decision for Montana</strong></p><p align="left">&nbsp;</p><p align="left">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; When NorthWestern Energy announced last year that it had entered into an agreement to buy back the hydroelectric facilities that the Montana Power Company once owned, most Montana’s probably smiled a little , thinking that a serious public policy mistake of the 1990s was about to be corrected.</p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 22:40:29 +0000 Tom Power 15993 at http://kufm.org Valuing the Montana Colstrip Electric Generators: A Strange New World http://kufm.org/post/valuing-montana-colstrip-electric-generators-strange-new-world <p align="center"><strong>Valuing the Montana Colstrip Electric Generators: A Strange New World</strong></p><p align="center">&nbsp;</p><p>NorthWestern Energy is proposing to purchase the Montana hydroelectric generators originally owned by the Montana Power Company. Montana Power sold them off in the late 1990s as it pursued a speculative dream of becoming a national telecommunication company. Instead Montana Power went bankrupt and ceased to exist.</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 15:27:32 +0000 tom power 15449 at http://kufm.org U.S. State Department Greenlight for the Keystone Pipeline? http://kufm.org/post/us-state-department-greenlight-keystone-pipeline <p><strong>U.S. State Department Greenlight for the Keystone Pipeline?</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 16:02:39 +0000 Tom Power 14842 at http://kufm.org The Oil Companies’ Self-Serving Fatalism on Petroleum Use http://kufm.org/post/oil-companies-self-serving-fatalism-petroleum-use <p><strong>The Oil Companies’ Self-Serving Fatalism on Petroleum Use</strong></p> Tue, 14 Jan 2014 16:04:55 +0000 Tom Power 13620 at http://kufm.org Creating and Destroying “Good Jobs” http://kufm.org/post/creating-and-destroying-good-jobs <p><strong>Creating and Destroying “Good Jobs”</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 15:58:57 +0000 Tom Power 13071 at http://kufm.org From Violence to Non-Violence: Putting Nelson Mandela’s Contribution into a Broader Context http://kufm.org/post/violence-non-violence-putting-nelson-mandela-s-contribution-broader-context <p><strong>From Violence to Non-Violence: </strong></p><p><strong>Putting Nelson Mandela’s Contribution into a Broader Context</strong></p><p></p> Mon, 16 Dec 2013 23:57:31 +0000 Tom Power 12523 at http://kufm.org Scaring the Political Wits Out of Us: How Important Is the Federal Deficit? http://kufm.org/post/scaring-political-wits-out-us-how-important-federal-deficit <p><strong>Scaring the Political Wits Out of Us: How Important Is the Federal Deficit?</strong></p><p></p> Tue, 03 Dec 2013 16:19:11 +0000 Tom Power 11907 at http://kufm.org The Federal Debt Ceiling: Analyzing the Can Kicked Down the Road http://kufm.org/post/federal-debt-ceiling-analyzing-can-kicked-down-road <p align="left">&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp; If the Obama Administration cannot get the incompetent, stumbling rollout of the Affordable Care Act fixed in the next month or so, we will soon face another game of “economic chicken” between Tea Party Republicans and President Obama.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 19 Nov 2013 16:32:33 +0000 Tom Power 11339 at http://kufm.org