nonfiction http://kufm.org en "Clark Rockefeller" Fools Seasoned Journalist http://kufm.org/post/clark-rockefeller-fools-seasoned-journalist <p><span class="piece-description-lead">Walter Kirn talks about and reads from his memoir <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780871404510" target="_blank">Blood Will Out: The True Story of Murder, a Mystery and a Masquerade</a></span>.</p><p><strong>About the Book:</strong></p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 17693 at http://kufm.org "Clark Rockefeller" Fools Seasoned Journalist Yellowstone Has Teeth http://kufm.org/post/yellowstone-has-teeth <p>Marjane Ambler talks about and reads from '<a href="http://riverbendpublishing.com/yellowstone-has-teeth.html" target="_blank">Yellowstone Has Teeth: A memoir of living year-round in the world's first national park</a>.'</p><p><strong>About the book:</strong></p> Wed, 05 Feb 2014 13:10:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 14309 at http://kufm.org Yellowstone Has Teeth Book Talk with Chérie Newman, Barbara Theroux, and Zed http://kufm.org/post/book-talk-ch-rie-newman-barbara-theroux-and-zed <p>During this program TWQ producer Chérie Newman talks with Barbara Theroux, manager of <a href="http://factandfictionbooks.com/" target="_blank">Fact &amp; Fiction Bookstore</a>, and Zed about recently-published books written <span class="piece-description-lead">by authors from the western U.S. -- fiction, nonfiction, and poetry, for adults and children</span>.</p><p></p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 18:45:59 +0000 Chérie Newman 12255 at http://kufm.org Book Talk with Chérie Newman, Barbara Theroux, and Zed Poetry, Aphorisms, and Perfect Pie Crust http://kufm.org/post/poetry-aphorisms-and-perfect-pie-crust <p>Kate Lebo has created a delightful commonplace book that includes poetry, recipes, illustrations, and a twisty new form of folk wisdom. The conversation during this program includes the definition of a commonplace book, as well as perfect pie crust tips, pie quotes ("We ought to make the pie higher." - George W. Bush), and aphorisms.</p><p><strong>About the book:</strong></p> Wed, 27 Nov 2013 13:24:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 11627 at http://kufm.org Poetry, Aphorisms, and Perfect Pie Crust Doug Peacock Looks into The Shadow of the Sabertooth http://kufm.org/post/doug-peacock-looks-shadow-sabertooth <p>During this program filmmaker and naturalist Doug Peacock talks about his latest book, <a href="http://dougpeacock.net/books.html#.UmlrGxCrGoY" target="_blank">In the Shadow of the Sabertooth: A Renegade Naturalist Considers Global Warming, the First Americans and the Terrible Beasts of the Pleistocene</a>.</p><p><strong>About the Book:</strong></p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 19:00:11 +0000 Chérie Newman 10149 at http://kufm.org Doug Peacock Looks into The Shadow of the Sabertooth Christopher White Discovers The Melting World http://kufm.org/post/christopher-white-discovers-melting-world <p>During this program, Christopher White talks about and reads from his book<a href="http://christopherwhitebooks.com/the-melting-world" target="_blank"> The Melting World: A Journey Across America’s Vanishing Glaciers</a>.</p> Wed, 23 Oct 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 10046 at http://kufm.org Christopher White Discovers The Melting World Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet http://kufm.org/post/ted-turners-quest-save-troubled-planet <p>During this program, veteran journalist Todd Wilkinson talks about and reads from his book <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780762784431" target="_blank">Last Stand: Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet</a>.</p><p><strong>About Ted Turner and the book:</strong></p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 21:41:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 7374 at http://kufm.org Ted Turner's Quest to Save a Troubled Planet The Last Great Battle of the Indian Wars http://kufm.org/post/last-great-battle-indian-wars <p><span class="piece-description-lead">During this program, Shoshone-Bannock author Mark Trahant talks about and reads from his book <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/9780982758106" target="_blank">The Last Great Battle of the Indian Wars: Henry M. Jackson, Forrest J. Gerard and the campaign for the self-determination of America’s Indian Tribes.</a> He also explains the difference between American Indians and Alaska Natives, and the relationship of sovereign tribal governments with the U.S. government.</span></p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 12:44:00 +0000 Chérie Newman 7078 at http://kufm.org The Last Great Battle of the Indian Wars Jo Deurbrouck's Story of Adventure, Friendship and Tragedy on the Last of the West's Great Rivers http://kufm.org/post/jo-deurbroucks-story-adventure-friendship-and-tragedy-last-wests-great-rivers <p><span class="tridefaultbold"><span class="tridefaultreg">During this program, Chérie Newman talks with Jo Deurbrouck about her nonfiction book, <a href="http://www.factandfictionbooks.com/book/%5Bmodel%5D-62" target="_blank">Anything Worth Doing: A true story of adventure, friendship and tragedy on the last of the West's great rivers</a>, which won a 2012 National Outdoor Book Award.</span></span></p> Wed, 05 Jun 2013 18:41:08 +0000 Chérie Newman 3485 at http://kufm.org Jo Deurbrouck's Story of Adventure, Friendship and Tragedy on the Last of the West's Great Rivers