Food Guys http://kufm.org en Eggplant, Baba ghanoush, and Moussaka http://kufm.org/post/eggplant-baba-ghanoush-and-moussaka <p></p><p>4/20/14: This week on "The Food Guys:" Jon and Greg suggest simple recipes for baba ghanoush and moussaka, which are only two recipes among thousands that Syrians, Turks, Armenians and Indians possess for the mighty eggplant.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 17748 at http://kufm.org Eggplant, Baba ghanoush, and Moussaka Physiology of Taste http://kufm.org/post/physiology-taste <p>3/23/14: This week on "The Food Guys:" Greg and Jon go on for some time about the physiology of taste, and the <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2013/03/26/health/mary-roach-on-studying-food-and-how-humans-eat-it.html?_r=1&amp;" target="_blank">Silicon Valley of eating</a>.</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16249 at http://kufm.org Physiology of Taste Carnitine http://kufm.org/post/carnitine <p>3/16/14: This week on "The Food Guys:" Jon and Greg react to a Wall Street Journal article from April 2013, "<a href="http://online.wsj.com/news/articles/SB10001424127887324050304578408702646200088" target="_blank">New Health Worry in Red Meat</a>," by Melinda Beck. (The article reports on the findings of a recent NIH study linking gut bacteria and carnitine to the formation of a metabolite called TMAO. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16149 at http://kufm.org Carnitine Adding More Vegetables http://kufm.org/post/adding-more-vegetables <p>January 12th, 2014: Greg and Jon discuss ways to incorporate more vegetables, raw and cooked, into each meal, by structuring breakfast omelets, main dishes and soups around them.</p><p></p> Fri, 10 Jan 2014 23:21:46 +0000 mtpr.org 13505 at http://kufm.org Adding More Vegetables Breeding Bacteria on Factory Farms http://kufm.org/post/breeding-bacteria-factory-farms <p></p><p>September 29th, 2013: Jon and Greg discuss a <a href="http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2013/07/09/breeding-bacteria-on-factory-farms/?_r=0" target="_blank"><em>New York Times</em> piece</a> by <a href="http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/author/mark-bittman/" target="_blank">Mark Bittman</a> on the practice of giving prophylactic doses of antibiotics to livestock, and how it <a href="http://www.plosone.org/article/info%3Adoi%2F10.1371%2Fjournal.pone.0067641" target="_blank">accelerates the development of antibiotic-resistant bacteria. </a></p><p></p> Fri, 27 Sep 2013 14:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 8205 at http://kufm.org Breeding Bacteria on Factory Farms Corny Ideas http://kufm.org/post/corny-ideas <p>September 8th, 2013: If an abundance of corn on the cob has left you indifferent to one of summer's highlights, Jon and Greg are ready with suggestions: cornbread, tamale pie, corn soufflé, corn chowder, and corn in salads.</p><p></p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 14:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 7554 at http://kufm.org Fresh Tomato Sauce http://kufm.org/post/fresh-tomato-sauce <p>September 1st, 2013: Greg and Jon give free-form instructions for simple tomato sauce, using fresh, flavorful tomatoes of the season. Freeze enough of it and you'll have a delicious key ingredient for recipes all winter.</p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 18:07:38 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 7540 at http://kufm.org Peaches and Peach Galette http://kufm.org/post/peaches-and-peach-galette <p>August 25th, 2013: Jon and Greg praise the seasonal Montana peach, and Greg explains how to make peach galette, a "sheet of thin, buttery pastry topped with fresh fruit."</p><p>http://www.thebakingwizard.com/peach-galette/</p><p><strong>Peach Galette</strong></p> Fri, 23 Aug 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Greg Patent 7160 at http://kufm.org Peaches and Peach Galette Follow-the-Sun Pickles: Cucumbers With a Tan http://kufm.org/post/follow-sun-pickles-cucumbers-tan <p>August 18th, 2013: Greg and Jon revisit one of their very first "Food Guys" topics: "Follow-the-Sun Pickles." Cucumbers, spices and liquid are stuffed into a jar, rotated in full sun for eight hours, then stashed in the basement for three days. An example of the nearly-instant gratification of the summer menu.</p><p></p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 14:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 6437 at http://kufm.org Food Science, Part 4: Mayonnaise http://kufm.org/post/food-science-part-4-mayonnaise <p>August 11th, 2013: Jon and Greg conclude their four-part series on food science - inspired by the writing of Harold McGee - with "Mayonnaise."</p><p><a href="http://curiouscook.typepad.com/" target="_blank">http://curiouscook.typepad.com/</a></p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 14:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 6429 at http://kufm.org