Field Notes http://kufm.org en Dirt http://kufm.org/post/dirt <p>4/14/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Dirt," by Deborah Tanner.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16989 at http://kufm.org Dirt Chickadee Songs http://kufm.org/post/chickadee-songs <p>4/6/14 &amp; 4/7/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Chickadee Songs," by Archie McMillan.</p><p>"Pretty Shield, a medicine woman born to the Crow Nation 160 years ago, heard the bird saying, 'Summer's near, summer's near!' She taught that the bird has a single tongue in the fall, and then, as the seasons progress, more tongues each month until spring, when it has seven...</p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16988 at http://kufm.org Chickadee Songs Mammal Insulation http://kufm.org/post/mammal-insulation <p>3/30/14 and 3/31/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Mammal Insulation," by Carol Alette.</p> Fri, 28 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16832 at http://kufm.org Mammal Insulation Canada Thistle http://kufm.org/post/canada-thistle <p>3/23/14&nbsp; &amp;&nbsp; 3/24/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Canada Thistle," by Heather Sarantis.</p> Fri, 21 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16248 at http://kufm.org Canada Thistle Bird Migration http://kufm.org/post/bird-migration <p>3/16/14&nbsp; &amp;&nbsp; 3/17/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Bird Migration, Part 2," by Andrea and Don Stierle.</p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Beth Anne Austein 16116 at http://kufm.org Bird Migration Birds of a Feather http://kufm.org/post/birds-feather-1 <p>3/9/14 and 3/10/14: This week on "<a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">Fieldnotes</a>:" "Bird Social Behavior," by Mark Hanson.</p><p>"Except when mating and nesting, Bohemian and Cedar waxwings are simply highly social birds. They seek food and water supplies large enough for the entire flock. Even more remarkably, they will sometimes pass berries from bird to bird down a line until a berry is finally swallowed. They not only eat together, but they may also become intoxicated together, indulging their tendency to gorge themselves on overripe berries."</p><p></p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 15:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 15798 at http://kufm.org Birds of a Feather Montana's Moose Population http://kufm.org/post/montanas-moose-population <p>"Fieldnotes," March 2nd &amp; 3rd, 2014: “Moose in Montana," by Matt Hannon. <a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">http://www.montananaturalist.org/</a></p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 15:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 13812 at http://kufm.org Montana's Moose Population Mule Deer Scent Behavior http://kufm.org/post/mule-deer-scent-behavior <p>"Fieldnotes," February 23rd &amp; 24th, 2014: "Mule Deer Scent Behavior," by Beverly Dupree. <a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">http://www.montananaturalist.org/</a></p><p>"It would be easy to assume, looking at those ears, that the mule deer's most important sense is hearing. But then I noticed a curious behavior that led me to the conclusion that mule deer depend just as much on smell as on hearing.</p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 15:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 13663 at http://kufm.org Mule Deer Scent Behavior Chinook Winds http://kufm.org/post/chinook-winds <p>"Fieldnotes," February 16th &amp; 17th, 2014: "Chinook Winds," by Stephanie Gripne &amp; Caroline Kurtz. <a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">http://www.montananaturalist.org/</a></p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 15:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 13660 at http://kufm.org Chinook Winds Owl Afternoon http://kufm.org/post/owl-afternoon <p></p><p>"Fieldnotes," February 9th &amp; 10th, 2014: "Owl Afternoon," by Caroline Kurtz. <a href="http://www.montananaturalist.org/" target="_blank">http://www.montananaturalist.org/</a></p> Fri, 07 Feb 2014 15:00:00 +0000 mtpr.org 13659 at http://kufm.org Owl Afternoon